Craft

A blizzard of snowflakes.

Hi, Sorry I haven’t posted for a while. I have been busy with family and have then been away.

I have two things to share with you. Firstly my card won the CD Sunday challenge Rock Star. (See earlier posts for this card). I am chuffed to bit’s.

The second thing I have to share is the first Christmas card I have made this year. I thought I’d do a bit of a step by step.

Firstly I have made this card out of one sheet of A4 card.

I folded it in half and then cut it in half length ways. I then cut one half in half again. I used a snowflake embossing folder to emboss one half and used the other half to die cut a shape for my sentiment and an “owl” die that was free with papercraft essentials

I also punched a snowflake and I still have some scraps of card left that I can use on another card.

P1020751

Once cut out, I left the die on the sentiment tag and drew a line round the inside with a blue stabilo pen.

I then used stabilo pens to colour my stamp before stamping the sentiment – ” If kisses were snowflakes I’d send you a blizzard”. With the stamp being a clear stamp it didn’t stamp really clearly, so I used the pens to fill in any gaps and make it clearer.

The die cut owl had it’s ears cut off. One of which I kept to make a beak.  I then scribbled stabilo and crayola pens onto an acrylic block and used a paint brush and water to colour the die cut. You don’t need expensive pens for these techniques. In fact I don’t like to use expensive pens on my stamps as it can damage the nibs.

I drew round the die that holds all the little bits to make its tummy and used the same blue colour to colour it. The feet and beak were coloured directly. I used the edge of the pen to make the snowflake stand out. I also, used googly eyes instead of the die cuts to make him look cute.

P1020755

I then put the card together using foam tape and collall dimensional glue.

Here is the finished card. I hope you like it. I like the penguin perfect for Christmas cards.

P1020759

I think I will send it in to the magazine.

Other challenges I want to enter are as follows

http://rubysrainbow.blogspot.co.uk – Die cuts or punches.

http://papertakeweekly.blogspot.co.uk – To die for

9 thoughts on “A blizzard of snowflakes.”

  1. Great card. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Ruby’s Rainbow for our ‘Dies or Punches’ challenge.
    Hugs Helen P x

    Like

Please leave me a comment. They are all greatly appreciated.

