How to use up scraps when card making
Beginning cardmaking, Craft

How to use up your scraps in card making.

How to use up scraps in card makingHello everyone I made this card using papers and toppers from the Pollyanna Pickering British Wildlife DVD ROM. It was fairly easy to make just printing off some papers and toppers, cutting them out and sticking them onto the card. I always go around the edge of the toppers and papers with a dark marker to stop the white of the edge of the paper and this gives it a more professional look. I also used some dimensional foam tape to stick on the toppers as you can see below.

How to use up scraps when card making

I would like to enter this card into the Make it Male challenge at CD Sunday, because these wildlife image make great masculine cards.

After making this card I was left with lots of scraps of papers. So I made two more card using these.

Using up scraps when card makingWith the first card I made my own topper by cutting an image on the backing paper out with a circle die. I cut a scrap of backing paper into a rectangle and stuck this flat onto the card. I then used foam pads to stick my topper onto a circle mat that was on a topper sheet and onto a scalloped circle I had die cut from white card. I also die cut a corner embellishment from the patterned paper and used one of the flower embellishments that were on the topper sheet to make an embellishment in the corner this was finished with a pearl.

Using up scrap when card making

  This third card is more of a little note card and doesn’t feature any of Pollyanna’s images. I just uses a strip of background paper that the swirl embellishment for the first card had been cut out of. I then cut this swirl again from another paper and inlaid into the hole. I then added another flower and pearl and stamped a sentiment with brown ink to finish it off.

I hope this help you with how to use up the scraps you don’t use on your cards.

Please leave me a comment especially if you try any of my techniques to use up your scraps.

 

12 thoughts on “How to use up your scraps in card making.”

  1. I like all three. They are very different but very striking. I like the tip about darkening the edges. I often use a lead pencil to disguise the odd minute missed bit of cutting out – especially on difficult designs – but not thought of the whole top piece.
    Thank you for joining us.
    Carol xx
    CD Sunday DT

    Like

  2. Three lovely card, all prefect for the men in our lives, I love the way you used up all the bits of paper. So often they go into a box and you forget which CD they came from.
    Thank you for joining the CD Sunday
    Margaret
    CD Sunday DT

    Like

  3. 3 wonderful cards, love the squirrel image you used, great idea to use the scraps of paper straight away.thank you for joining in the challenge at CD Sunday

    Like

Please leave me a comment. They are all greatly appreciated.

